The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting

A Remedy For Wrong

"There must always be a remedy for
wrong and injustice if we only know how
to find it."

-Ida B. Wells
Presented By:

Congratulations to the five finalists. Please tune in to the virtual awards ceremony on June 8th at 4:00 p.m. The top three investigations will be honored.

2021 Readers' Choice Award

Help choose the winner of the Readers' Choice Award for The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting.

The Better Government Association has named five investigative projects as finalists for the 2021 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting. We invite you to read, listen, watch, and then vote for your favorite using the form below. The top vote-getter will receive our Readers' Choice Award—and a prize of $1,000.

Voting closes at 11:59 p.m. Wednesday, June 2, 2021.

The winner will be announced during our virtual award ceremony at 4:00 p.m. Tuesday, June 8.


City Bureau & WBEZ Andrew Fan (City Bureau); Linda Lutton, Alden Loury, Aaron Allen, Ashish Valentine (WBEZ)

ProPublica Midwest Staff, ProPublica

Chicago Tribune and ProPublica Illinois David Jackson (formerly with the Chicago Tribune); Duaa Eldeib (ProPublica Illinois)

WBBM Dave Savini, Samah Assad, Michele Youngerman, Mike Klingele, DeAndra Taylor, Reed Nolan, Don Stanke, Alfredo Roman, Chris McKnight, Dave Kenebrew, Tim Viste, Lana Hinshaw-Klann, Tony Diasio


Ron Nixon is global investigations editor at the Associated Press where he oversees the news agency’s investigative unit. Nixon received the inaugural 2021 News Leader of the Year award from the News Leaders Association.

He has overseen investigations that have won a number of awards including the Selden Ring, Investigative Reporters and Editors, and the Anthony Shadid. The team won a 2020 national Emmy in collaboration with PBS Frontline for an investigation into the record-breaking numbers of migrant children in detention under President Trump. A second collaboration with Frontline and the Global Reporting Centre also won an IRE award for an investigation into the impact of Covid-19 on the global medical supply chain. Members of the team also won the 2020 Hal Boyle Award and 2021 Joe and Laurie Dine Award from the Overseas Press Club.

Ron Nixon
Global Investigations Editor at the Associated Press

Marta Carreira-Slabe
Chief Compliance Officer – Aon Americas
Chief Counsel – Aon Latin America


Marta Carreira-Slabe is a bi-lingual Cuban American who has spent the last 12 years as the chief counsel for Latin America at Aon, a leading global professional services firm providing a broad range of risk, retirement and health solutions. Carreira-Slabe was promoted to the role of Chief Compliance Officer for the Americas at Aon. In this expanded role across both North and South America, Carreira-Slabe is now responsible for evaluating and mitigating key risks for Aon’s largest region (data privacy, trade sanctions, corruption, competition, money laundering, licensing and permissions, conflict of interest, compensation transparency and disclosure). Working closely with business leaders across the globe, Carreira-Slabe ensures the right processes, policies and programs are in place for proper risk mitigation at Aon. Carreira-Slabe also currently advises around compliance and regulatory risks in connection with the New Ventures Group at Aon, a group tasked with enabling sustainable growth and innovation, including in the public sector. Most recently, Carreira-Slabe has played a key role in advising the North America and Latin America business on employment and regulatory risks associated with COVID-19.


DePaul University
Northwestern Medill
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champagne
Chicago Sun-Times & ABC 7


1st Place - $15,000
2nd Place - $7,000
3rd Place - $4,000
Readers' Choice Prize - $1,000


The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting: A Remedy for Wrong, presented by Better Government Association will be held via a virtual video ceremony at 4:00 p.m. on June 8, 2021.

Judged by a rotating panel of journalists and media educators, the awards highlight the impact of Illinois investigative reporting as a reform tool within the context of state and local government waste, fraud and corruption.

The Better Government Association hosts The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting with the generous support of The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation. The Foundation supports investigative reporting that fosters greater transparency, accountability, and effectiveness in government institutions at the local level.